October 17, 2014

~!~BLOG TOUR AND REVIEW~!~ Relentless Rhythm by Michelle Mankin

Title: Relentless Rhythm (Tempest #4)
Author: Michelle Mankin
Publication: October 9th, 2014
Genre: Rock Star Contemporary Romance


The one she really wants is out of reach.
The one he really needs is already taken.
Dizzy Lowell, rhythm man for the rising rock band Tempest is a wizard on the guitar and a wonder with women. But the hookup specialist hides his emotional scars beneath his suave exterior. He never lets anyone truly touch him.
April Reynolds, the confident bartender of the Diamond Mine, knows her way around a cocktail, but Dizzy has her all mixed up. She knows what’s safe. She’s tired of settling, though. It would be so easy to fall under his spell.
Except for that ring around her finger.
Two searching souls separated by a thin metal band.
Some dreams are dangerous.
Some secrets shouldn’t be shared.
Sometimes what we wish for most can never be.


5 *I love this Rhythm Man* Stars
Sigh…every time I read a new Tempest Series book I fall in love with one of the members of the band, therefore cheating on the previous love of my life from the band LOL. This is no exception. I fell completely head over heels for Dizzy Lowell, he is the sexiest Rhythm Man you will ever meet.

Dizzy Lowell is not a relationship person, dealing with some very deep emotional scars from his past he cringes at the slightest touch from a woman. Always engaging in meaningless unfeeling sex with random hookups he has never really wanted more. Until he sets his eyes upon April. A bartender at the club Mine, she is unlike all others. Strong, desirable and no-nonsense, Dizzy can’t escape the lure of her. But there is one little problem in the way in the shape of a small band on April’s beautiful finger. As Dizzy is drawn more and more to April he starts to realize, April isn’t as strong as she appears and is hiding some secrets of her own. Secrets that put her life and well-being at risk, a risk that Dizzy is no longer going to allow. April needs saving and Dizzy is determined to be the one doing the rescuing.

This book was intense. Mankin has a unique ability of making her characters come to life. These characters become your family or your best friend, so much so that every emotion portrayed in the story becomes your own. There were moments when I cringed in fear and disgust from what April had to endure. I felt everything, her hatred, her shame, her terror and her anxiety. Throughout the book I felt like I was walking on eggshells too just as she did. There were times when I wanted to cry with her and times I wanted her to be strong in face of her abuser. But there were also tender moments where I felt the love and passion she had for Dizzy, the desire to be free and live her dream life. A life that she deserved.

And Dizzy well he was just as compelling in this book. We never really got too much of him in the previous Tempest books and I am glad because he shines in this story. He is the ultimate protector and devoted lover in Relentless Rhythm. His flirtatious banter will have you blushing and giddy and his skills in the bedroom will have you weak in the knees just from reading. Dizzy’s vulnerability makes him even more amazing in this story, his life has been hard and despite what has happened to him he has always remained true and dedicated to his sister, his friends and now April. His past is utterly heartbreaking but his survival is nothing short of admirable. Both Dizzy and April are such resilient characters in this book and all you can do is root for their happy ending one that will allow them to flourish in the love they can both provide each other, a love they both desperately need.

I love this series, it holds a special place in my heart. There are so many rocker type series out there but I can’t think of any that delve so deep into the human psyche like Mankin’s. The stories of these characters are raw and powerful. The obstacles they have to overcome are daunting and their desire to survive and rise above their past is amazing. Mankin is an excellent storyteller with a tenacity to write gripping stories that will break your heart, explore your compassion for others and make you fall in love every time.

Tempest series:
Brutal Strength series:
About the Author

Michelle Mankin is the author of the Black Cat Records series of novels.
Romance with subtext.
Reimagining classic stories with sexy rock stars and thought provoking issues.
For many years she worked in the insurance industry as an underwriter. Somehow, the boredom didn’t kill her but the hours and hours of looking at facts and figures provided ample time for her mind to wander.
Black Cat Records in Vancouver provides the central backdrop for all of Michelle’s current novels. Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and Love Resolution are a Brutal Strength centered trilogy, combining the plot underpinnings of Shakespeare with the drama, excitement, and indisputable sexiness of the rock ‘n roll industry.
Things take a bit of an edgier, once upon a time turn with the Tempest series.  These pierced, tatted, and troubled Seattle rockers are young and on the cusp of making it big, but with serious obstacles to overcome that may prevent them from ever getting there.
When Michelle is not prowling the streets of her Texas town listening to her rock music much too loud, she is putting her daydreams down on paper or traveling the world with her family and friends, sometimes for real, and sometimes just for pretend as she takes the children to school and back.

Connect with Michelle Mankin


No comments:

Post a Comment